Modi & team to take oath on June 9; berth talks continue


New Delhi: Narendra Modi will be sworn in as India’s Prime Minister for his third term in a row on the evening of Sunday, June 9, at Rashtrapati Bhavan. His new council of ministers, including those from the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), will also take the oath of office at the ceremony that will be attended by heads of state and government from neighbouring nations.Negotiations are underway with the Bharatiya Janata Party‘s NDA allies on ministerial and other berths. The coalition’s new MPs will meet at Samvidhan Sadan, the new name of the Central Hall in the old parliament building, on Friday at 11:30 am, after which Modi will meet President Droupadi Murmu to stake the NDA’s claim to form the government.

NDA chief ministers, including Bihar CM Nitish Kumar and Andhra Pradesh CM-designate N Chandrababu Naidu, have been invited to the Friday meeting, which will be addressed by Modi. He’s expected to speak on the mandate given to the NDA and the broad roadmap for the next government.

When he meets President Murmu, Modi will submit letters of support from 14 NDA partners.

  • All
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Maharashtra
  • Tamil Nadu
  • West Bengal
  • Bihar
  • Karnataka
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Telangana
  • Kerala
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Rajasthan
  • Delhi
  • Other States

Foreign Dignitaries
They include TDP (16 MPs), JDU (12), Shiv Sena-Shinde (7), LJP-RV (5), JDS (2), JSP (2), RLD (2), HAM (1), NCP-Ajit (1), Apna Dal (1), UPPL(1), AGP (1), SKM (1) and AJSU (1). With BJP’s tally of 240 seats, the NDA has a strength of 293 in the Lok Sabha. The majority mark is 272 seats.

« Back to recommendation stories

The oath-taking ceremony will take place on the lawns of Rashtrapati Bhavan. There is intense speculation about the changes in the BJP list of ministers as well as who will be chosen from the coalition partners. The number of berths that will be shared by the BJP with its NDA partners is still not clear.People with knowledge of the matter said the BJP will hold on to the post of Lok Sabha Speaker as the NDA has just 59 MPs more than the INDIA bloc and in case any partner pulls out, the role of the presiding officer in the lower house will be crucial.Bangladesh PM Sheikh Hasina, Bhutan King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wan-gchuck, Nepal PM Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Mauritius PM Pravind Jugnauth, Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu and Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickrem-esinghe are likely to attend the swearing-in ceremony, said the people cited above.

Source link